Photos: Contrast Portraiture

The year was 1999 and it was my freshman year at MCAD (Minneapolis College of Art and Design), I was learning the basics of black and white photography and how to process the negatives (a process I look fondly back on but am happy never to repeat). The mixture of chemicals was key and with so many bottles laying around the photo lab, I must have either grabbed the wrong one or gotten my ratio wrong. In any case I had one of those fabled happy accidents.

At first I was distraught by the effect, but the more I showed the contact sheets to my classmates, the more they wanted to know how I did it. I tried for some time to reproduce the effect and even cosulted some of the professors, but I was never able to manage it. Even photoshop canb’t quite do it. I can’t get the grain quite right.

In any case as a part of my current (and seemingly eternal) project of scanning the thousands of negatives I have laying around in binders, I finally decided to cull out the best shots from those 4 rolls of film. Here is a series of Portraits shot that day.

[Images after the jump]

[Visit NyArtist25.deviantart.com for more]

~ by David on November 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
