A fresh start

Life has been great out here. Now that Anna is getting older, we are finally settling into a routine and life is starting to show some semblance of normalcy. I always knew that I wanted to be a father, but I had no idea that it would be so enjoyable. I’m sure that there will be rough spots, but at this point every day brings something new. A grasping hand, a goofy baby grin, a coo that almost sounds like a word. It’s fantastic.

On a darker note. I’ve had a bit of a wake up call about my health recently. Obviously, I’ve been in my fair share of pictures with Anna and Kristina over the last couple of months, but I’ve also had to edit those photos and in doing so, observe just how out of shape I’ve become again. After a weigh in earlier this week, I discovered that I am in fact one pound heavier than my all time high weight of 245 lbs. All these months of sluggishness and poor diet have caught up with me. So as of the beginning of this week I dedicated myself to a fresh start. I’ve procured an old treadmill from my folks and given it a home in our somewhat cramped basement. I’ve also quit drinking soda daily and started watching what I eat more closely. So far so good. I’ve been jogging about a mile a day and I can feel my stamina building already. So much in fact, I was able to push out just over 2 miles yesterday. Now it’s just a matter of willpower and routine. I have great motivators on my side though. After all, I’m going to need to be able to keep up with Anna as she gets older.

~ by David on September 25, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
