Some people…

You know, I can’t begin to tell you how many telemarketers and recordings call me here in the office on a daily basis. The recordings are easy enough to hang up on, but I try and be courteous to the people that actually cold call me. I remember what it was like. I worked nights for the Saratogian, our local paper, for the better part of a year as a teenager. It was an ungrateful job, with quotas that had to be met nightly or you lost your job. It could easily put you in a foul mood.

The thing that irks me is that some of these people, whether it be out of annoyance or stupidity, can be so ignorant as to back talk me when I politely tell them that I am not interested in their product. I mean it’s one thing to try and continue your pitch, I can respect that, but the idiot that called me from the Saratogian had the short sightedness to follow up my rebuff with a drippingly sarcastic… “Way to support your local paper..” click!

I was so pissed off. I sat here for a minute to reign in my temper. I told myself that the ignorant ass probably didn't realize that although I may not want to recieve a free trial of the Sunday paper (which of course they would eventually start billing me for), I might actually, by some stretch of the imagination as a small business owner, run ads in his freaking employers paper!

After a few more minutes I decided it wasn’t worth making the guy lose his job, which he most definitely would after one complaint, that is assuming that the folks running the “discount department” are the hard asses that I worked under. If thats the case, his days are likely numbered anyway.

I’ll just take a deep breath, relax, and hope the guy lightens up and begins to think a little bit before opening his yap. I surely don't envy him.

~ by David on March 9, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
