Your own kind of music…

So I mentioned Soul Coughing in my earlier entry, and as with most times I think or talk about music, I can’t seem to get it out of my head even after a couple of hours. Soul Coughing in particular has a funny place in my life. 

At some point when we were all teens and figuring out who we were in the world, I think most of us come across some piece of sub-culture that we realise not many other people have noticed and that begins to help us flesh out who we are. For me it was when I was about 17, I was driving home late from a friends house and caught most of “Screenwriter’s Blues”. The DJ didn’t mention the name of the band, but the song got stuck in my head. 

For days I listened to the radio, just hoping to catch it again. Eventually I was sitting in my car again late one night and I heard it. Still there was no name. I even tried to call into the station to find out the name, but I couldn’t get through. The next day after school I made my way down to the local record shop, the only independant shop around those days. I picked through the owners brain for a bit and eventually he figured out what it was that I was talking about. The album wasn’t even out yet, but the owner of the shop had a promo copy of the album that he had gotten just a couple of weeks before. The CD title was Ruby Vroom.

I must have listened to that cd two hundred times over the next week. Every word and intonation of the singers voice engrained in my memory. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the lyrics to a single song. I had internalized music before, a habit I picked up from years of choir as a kid, but this was the first time that I ever felt like I had discovered something all my own. The only other music to come close like this was Blind Melon, but that was mainstream. Well at least No Rain was. I grew to hate that song eventually, but that never happened with any song off the original Soul Coughing album.

You know, over the years, I have found friends because of this band, seen the group and eventually just Mike Doughty himself over a dozen times in venues large and even better small. I've spoken with Mike Doughty a handful of times after shows and even had my voice end up in a song, they used to sample yells from the crowd and loop them into live performances. I can say that no band, or musician has ever made more of an impact on me personally or the way I look at language.

Anyway Screenwriters Blues has surfaced in my head again over the last few days and I thought I’d share some of it with you all. The video I found on YouTube is pretty cheesy, but hell they were nobodies when they produced this. I’ll try and put up a mini concert sometime over the weekend too if I can find enough good material on YouTube. Hope you enjoy…

~ by David on March 8, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
