It’s book talkin’ time…

So I’m on an upswing today. Yesterday I had to call it a short day at the office because I was still pretty wiped out, but today is going much more smoothly. I have to say that one of the up-sides of being sick this last week (and there being nothing but reruns on tv) has been that I picked up a book again and have been really enjoying it. One of my Christmas gifts from K’s parents was a novel that I had been eager to read for a while now. 

It’s Liquor by Poppy Z. Brite. Early on in her career Poppy was known as a horror fiction writer, and a damn good one. One of my favorite books in high school was her book Drawing Blood. I think that was one of the first books to actually scare me, and thats after years of reading Stephen King and Dean Koontz. Anyway, this book is a complete departure from her earlier work. This is the story of two guys living in New Orleans (pre-Katrina) trying to start a restaurant that blends two staples of New Orleans life, good food and liquor, into every dish.
 


The novel has alot of flavor. If you liked Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and it’s view of the underbelly of kitchen life, or just enjoy alot of smack talk, then you’ll love this. I'm only about 3/4 of the way through at this point, but I’m thoroughly entertained and dying to finish it so I can dig into the next two books in the series (Prime, and Soul Kitchen). Though I probably will take a little break between to read the new Thommas Harris book Hannibal Rising, number 4 in the series starring one of the most memorable villans in literature Hannibal Lecter. I’m so psyched. Anyone else read/reading any of these or want to share something else that you are really enjoying? Drop a comment. I’d love to hear. 

As usual, click any of the images to go to Barnes & Noble to read reviews or buy the book or whatever. 

 

~ by David on January 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
